Framingham State University Crocker Hall
Built in 1886, Crocker Hall is Framingham State University’s oldest building. Originally a dormitory, the historic structure has most recently been home to faculty and administrative offices, sharing an active section of the central campus quad with student life buildings.
- Year Built 1886
- Size 26,215 ft2
HMFH was engaged by the university to undertake a phased renovation to upgrade Crocker Hall’s outdated building systems to house offices for the university’s academic deans and create a more welcoming experience for visiting students. Scheduled to occur over three summers for minimal disruption to campus activities, the renovation adheres to tight construction schedules and limited budgets through precision planning.
The first phase improved the building’s exterior, including a new roof, windows and doors, and repairs to masonry and wood wall systems. A new accessible entrance was completed by raising and restructuring a deteriorating porch and regrading the surrounding lawn to create a low-slope walk, a more elegant and cost-effective solution to universal access than the previously planned ramp. The second phase focused on the first-floor interiors, including new finishes and meeting spaces for the dean’s suites; the final phase, to be completed in the summer of 2020, will install new accessible bathroom facilities throughout the second- and third-floor academic offices.